Photo: Aminah Fonseca
The Business of Black Hair
Since 2009 Tennessee has fined several braiders and more than thirty salons in excess of $100,000 not because of any health or sanitation violations but because the braiders are unlicensed. In Tennessee to obtain a license to braid hair braiders must ‘complete at least 300 hours of coursework…across the entire state only 3 schools offer those courses, charging anywhere from $1,500 to $5,000 for tuition.’
In most states natural stylist pay a simple license fee ranging in price from $25 to $100 but lately more and more states are trying to attach heavy fees and courses for braiders. Braiding is an art honestly most often something you have a natural gift for. I am all for making sure that braiders are meeting the requirements for health and sanitation but 300 hours of coursework, no that seems like a racket for the state and another way the system to hurt small businesses and African-American business specifically.
Do you think this is fair?
Check out Braiding-Institute to stop regulations on Braiders!